#thefirmtribe Celebrates Black History Month Part 3: Patrick!

Over here on 2nd ave we have killer workouts, and rockin’ tunes to accompany them….but the best part of our fitness home is the people who fill up our family. We wanted to celebrate that with highlighting members of our community in honor of Black History Month. Third, and final up in #thefirmtribe celebrates Black History Month is Patrick Cummings. When he walks through those front doors we find a little more love and motivation floating around in the air. Read his interview below to find out why!

1/ Can you tell us a bit about your path and how you landed here at the Firm, in Minneapolis?

-We moved to Minneapolis from Chicago in 2004.  Our gym in Chicago was great, the classes were tough and we made many good friends there. Prior to moving I asked friends in Minneapolis about their favorite workout spot and the name that kept coming up was The Firm.  During a house hunting trip one of my best friends brought me to The Firm for a Saturday morning class and I was hooked.  The Firm has been my gym since that class.

2/ What inspired you to be a part of the fitness community?

-I was a competitive athlete through college so working out has always been a very important part of my life.  Other than spending time with my family, working out is the best part of my day.  

3/ As we celebrate Black History Month, what black men and women have you looked to as mentors?

 

The most influential people in my life have been my parents. My mother taught me the importance of compassion, tolerance and forgiveness.  My father taught me about courage, resilience and focus.

4/ How have those mentors influenced where you are today?

-My parents have influenced how I view the world, how I react to the world and how I help my kids understand current and historical events.  My parents lived through a lot (segregation, the 1960’s Civil Rights Movement) and they loved discussing current and past events.  They have amazing perspective and they are great story tellers. Their experience and perspective still help me today.

5/ What continues to keep you inspired?

-I’m inspired when I am challenged.   

6/ What is one thing you want everyone to know about you?

-I’m a huge fan of the firm because the people are amazing.

You ROCK Patrick! Thanks being a part of our crew, we’re big fans of you!

patrick

Leave a Reply

