#thefirmtribe celebrates Women’s History Month: Tobi Lynden!

March is women’s history month, and over here on 2nd ave we have a lot of passionate, strong, amazing women to celebrate. Since Day 1, we have had women who broke the mold as our leaders, and they have always been all kinds of badass. We are inspired everyday by the strong, bold and unique women that run in our crew. To celebrate that we are highlighting the women in our crew of boutique directors, starting with the one and only Tobi Lynden! She is the yoga boutique director, and we are all kinds of stoked to have her in our crew. She’s got one of the biggest hearts in the Twin Cities, and is an incredibly strong, genuine, amazing woman. Her interview got us a little misty…..check it out below.

1/ Can you tell us a bit about your path and how you landed here at the Firm, in Minneapolis?

 -My friend Sarah brought me to Doug’s Sat morning class almost 10 years ago.  I’ll never forget it because I had to go home and take a nap because it felt like I got hit by a Mack truck and didn’t even realize I was working that hard because it was so much fun. Every single muscle in my body was sore and I loved it!  The Firm was a vibrant, exciting place that made working out more than just physical.  It was an escape to that I knew would always welcome me back. 

2/ What inspired you to be a part of the fitness community?

-This fitness community is so special to me. It has nothing to do with my size, shape or even fitness level. Being part of this community brings me peace and contentment to accept myself as I am. 

3/ As we celebrate women’s history month this month, what women have you looked to as mentors?

-My mom taught me to speak my mind and to stand up for myself and others. Always.  When I was in middle school she used to wear a shirt that said “a woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle” and I hated it because all I wanted was a boyfriend.  She’s taught me that every human being matters and when you have a voice you need to use it, especially for those that don’t. I’ve also learned from her that just because you believe in equal rights doesn’t mean you don’t enjoy having the door held open for you or being dropped off at the restaurant door when it’s raining. 

4/ How have those mentors influenced where you are today?

-I am a Pediatric nurse because for one I love babies and kids and also because every day I feel like an advocate for those who can’t speak for themselves.  I’m inspired daily by the mothers of the patients I care for and the resilience and strength of the kids. 

5/ What continues to keep you inspired?

-I’m continuously inspired every time I guide a yoga class. The students inspire me as I watch the inner strength and power that comes from within. I love the transformative energy in the class that’s like a wave.  Nervousness, determination, self judgement, satisfaction, anger, joy and bliss.  Not necessarily in that order. 


6/ What is one thing you want everyone to know about you?

-One thing about me is that I have been called overly sensitive ever since I can remember.  I cry when I’m mad, sad, happy, etc.. I used to see this as a character flaw. Now I see it as one of my greatest strengths.

We love you Tobi! Thanks for being such an amazing part of our team!
TheFirm_FebSocialContent_19
One thought on “#thefirmtribe celebrates Women’s History Month: Tobi Lynden!

Leave a Reply

