#thefirmtribe Celebrates PRIDE week: Laura Sukowatey !

It’s our favorite time of year over here on 2nd ave, PRIDE week! You can feel the energy inside these walls, this time of year is always electric and full of love. We CANNOT wait until the Parade on Sunday, and if you’ve been a part of the parade over the past couple of years you know our graceful and badass flash mob dance choreographer and leader, Laura Sukowatey! You can find Laura every Thursday night at 5:30 leading Cardio Hip Hop at The Firm. She is an amazing dancer, and always puts together the best moves for our PRIDE float. Read her interview below!

1/ Can you tell us a bit about your path and how you landed here at the Firm, in Minneapolis?

-Having danced all my life, I never enjoyed “traditional workouts” or going to the gym. But a friend of mine assured me The Firm was different. So I tagged along with her one day and she was right. I found classes I loved and the positive vibe at The Firm was something refreshing I had never experienced before. It just seemed like the right place for me to be.

2/ What inspired you to be a part of the fitness community?

-First of all, I began to realize that no matter how stressed or crabby I might get on any given day, as soon as I walk into The Firm I forget about it and am instantly in a better mood. Secondly, it helped me discover new ways to share dance with the community beyond just working with “trained dancers”. I know The Firm offers so much more beyond dance, but it’s what drew me in. I’ve always believed anyone can dance, but sometimes people don’t know where to go if they don’t have dance experience. The Firm makes dance accessible to everyone through the Vintage classes, cardio hip hop, and barre. We’ve also been offering some special dance/movement workshops and it’s really great to give people a safe space to try new types of movement & styles.

3/ How many years have you been a part of The Firm’s Pride float?

-This will be my 3rd year doing the Pride Float. I’m still a newbie 🙂

4/ What is one of your favorite PRIDE memories?

-The first year Doug asked me to choreograph the flash mob, he chose a very empowering theme that (in it simplest form) stated “you are not alone” — encouraging people of all identities and backgrounds to stand together and support one another. I remember when Doug first saw everyone practicing he had tears in his eyes & seemed so happy. I had been nervous about being able to bring his vision to life, so this moment of reassurance stuck in my mind.

5/ If you could tell someone one thing about Pride in Minneapolis, what would it be?

-It’s just really fun. You feel like you’re part of a community, and something greater than yourself.

We LOVE you Laura, and we can’t wait to see what you come up with on Sunday!

 

Leave a Reply

